Some Experiments End In Explosions

I wrote a post earlier detailing how I manage my medications for ADHD. A huge amount of experimenting went into it (and is still ongoing in fact) but of course it was done with full knowledge of physiology and pharmacology and under supervision of my doctor. I guess in that sense I was lucky because I never have to wait until my next appointment to make changes to my meds which meant I never had to suffer long with any side effects, over or under-dosage.

Thinking back, there are a few issues with how I did things that may not translate well onto everyone. Here’s a few things to take into account before you go to your doctor asking him to try that method for you.

1. Stimulants are controlled drugs and are dispensed exactly as precribed.

I’m sure we’ve all heard that annoying jab about how ADHD meds are basically meth. Rolls eyes. Ugh. So yes, that “meth like drug” prescribed to us is highly susceptible to being abused; as in stolen or coerced into selling or whatever. To regulate this, pharmacists usually do not allow refilling of prescriptions before the appointment date if you suddenly run out.

Unfortunately as much as they want to trust people, there are always those who will abuse the system. Leaving those who don’t to suffer.

In this case, playing around with meds will be a difficult option unless you have the undying trust of your psychiatrist and access to see him as and when you need it. I understand many don’t have that luxury and are left to make do with the current dose until they get to see the doctor again. Do try and enquire, as your psychiatrist may be able to help out with this problem

2. Not understanding the possible consequences of self adjusting meds is dangerous

For me playing around with the meds is like second nature because we are trained to do so in our daily practice. It sounds like a 1+1=2 situation but it’s really more complicated than that.

Before messing around with my doses, I read up the phamacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of the drugs and also did a little refresher on my neurobiology and neuroanatomy. So when I make any changes I am fairly certain that it is within the limits of safety to do so.

Of course, if your doctor is willing to get involved actively, this is really worth a shot.

3. It’s a hit or miss and  it can be psychologically draining

When I hit a fog, or end up with side effects, I will sometimes blame myself for not doing things properly. I find that I keep having to remind myself that we respond differently all the time to the meds and it’s not something that can be foreseen, but most times I end up getting upset at myself. Haha. Blaming my RSD for this one!

It’s also exhausting to keep trying to one-up your ADHD cause we all know it always wins.  You keep trying to stay ahead of the symptoms by thinking 10 steps ahead. But the ADHD is like Usain Bolt to your tortoise. It not only catches up to you but leaves you in a cloud of dust.

4. Constant change = no routine= higher chances of missing meds

When you keep changing things up, there is no routine to settle into. It also makes it difficult to plan out. This is especially frustrating for people with ADHD cause we’d just end up deciding to screw it and miss that particular dose rather than trying to plan it out.

 I’m sure my friends are sick of hearing of me forgetting my meds especially the ones I take at work. Mostly because I left it at home or too busy at that time and forgot or just too lazy to open the packet/find water.

So what these two posts are trying to convey is the fact that there are many factors going into the success and failure of a treatment. If you feel you need treatment and the current regime is doing nothing for you, just hang in there. Try to discuss this with your psychiatrist and find an option that’s best for you.

One thought on “Some Experiments End In Explosions

Leave a comment